Brazil RIG

Mission Statement

To build technical capacity, provide a forum to exchange scientific information and foster advances in Pharmacoepidemiology including drug utilization research (DUR) and pharmacovigilance among researchers interested in collaborating with other researchers, from Brazil and from other parts of the world.


  • To contribute with capacity building in pharmacoepidemiology to conduct high-quality pharmacoepidemiology studies in Brazil;
  • To disseminate the results of high-quality pharmacoepidemiology studies among researchers, policy makers and healthcare providers;
  • To propose harmonize Brazilian databases, working with decision markers in a government, to optimize its use for rigorous pharmacoepidemiology research at national and international levels;
  • To promote a collaboration among healthcare managers, researchers, and organized civil society (patients) groups within Brazil`s Unified Healthcare System;
  • To use data from Brazilian databases to estimate the potential Budget Impact of emerging drugs identified, prioritized and critically assessed by the Brazilian Horizon Scanning System and,
  • To promote international collaboration with individuals and groups in the area of pharmacoepidemiology research.
    • To involve investigators from the LatAm chapter in research projects initiated in Brazil
    • To collaborate with investigators from the LatAm chapter in preparation of webinars
    • To involve investigators from the LatAm chapter in presentations of workshops at ICPE

Meeting Schedule

The Brazil Chapter meets several times per year by teleconference and/or through face-to-face meetings in Brazil and/or at ISPE’s mid-year meeting and/or at the annual ICPE meeting.

Comittee Members

Chair Luciane Lopes
Vice Chair Lisiane Leal
Vice Chair Claudia Gracia Serpa Osório de Castro

Cristiano Soares de Moura, McGill University, ISPE member

Francisco de Assis Acurcio – UFMG (Federal University of Minas Gerais) – ISPE Member

Sueli Miyuki Yamauti - Unifesp (federal University of São Paulo) – ISPE Member

Tatiana Chama Borges Luz. Instituto René Rachou/Fiocruz Minas – ISPE Member

André Oliveira Baldoni – UFSJ (Federal University of São João Del-Rei) – Not Member

Cristiane de Cassia Bergamaschi – Uniso (University of Sorocaba) – Not Member

Izabela Fulone – Uniso (University of Sorocaba) – Not Member

Lauren  Mazzei - Uniso (university of Sorocaba) – Not Member

Marcus Toletino Silva – Uniso (university of Sorocaba) – Not Member

Marta Maria de França Fonteles - UFC (Federal University of Ceará) – Not  Member

Mirian Parente Monteiro – UFC (Federal University of Ceará) – Not Member

Nathan Mendes Souza - UFMG (Federal University of Minas Gerais) – Not Member

Silvio Barberato Filho – Uniso (University of Sorocaba) – Not Member

Vera Lucia Luiza – Fiocruz (Fundação Osvaldo Cruz) – Not Member

Abraham G Hartzema – University of Florida, US – Member (FISPE)

Björn Wettermark - Karolinska Institutet; Department Public Healthcare Services Committee – Sweden – Member ISPE

Kwame Appenteng - Astellas Pharma -  US - Member (FISPE)

Maribel Salas - Daiichi Sankyo - US – Member (FISPE)

Monique Elsevier –University of Ghent, Belgium – Member  ISPE

Ria Benko - University of Szeged, Szeged, Hungary – Member ISPE

Yesenia Rodríguez -  ESSALUD - Center of Pharmacovigilance and Medical Devices Vigilance, Peru – Member ISPE

Susan dosReis, PhD, FISPE - Department of Pharmaceutical Health Services Research -

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy - Member ISPE

Ana Rincon – University of Guadalajara – Mexico – Not member

Jorge Augusto Diaz Rojas - Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá – not Member

Joseph Fadare – (Ekiti State University, Nigeria) – Not Member

Olayinka Ogunleye – Lagos State University College of Medicine and Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria

Roberta Joppi - Clinical Research & Drug Assessment Unit Local Health Authority – Veneto Region, Italy; Chair of the EuroScan International Network – Not member